As many of you may have already spotted we are in the process of switching lots of our core range to Gluten Free. We have been using an enzyme in the brewery for a number of years that reduces chill haze, at the same time it also removes most of the Gluten. The only changes made to now certify these beers as Gluten Free is making sure we schedule GF products together & every batch is tested below the 20ppm threshold prior to public release.
We have had a lot of similar questions on the change so we’ve put together a FAQ of some of the most common GF questions for you here:
WHAT PRODUCTS ARE GLUTEN FREE?
Che Guava, El Perro Negro, Chillax & our new Joker AF have always been Gluten Free. We are currently in the process of switching 50cl bottles of: Joker IPA, Caesar Augustus, Birds & Bees, Fraoch (Heather Ale) & Seven Giraffes to Gluten Free too - Please check the label on these products as there will be cross over in trade for the first wee while. All gluten free stock will say “ Gluten Free” on the back of the label, please make sure to check the label. We hope to follow suit in the smaller bottles/cans as we use up old stock of labels/can shells, until we do please assume they are not. In the meantime, only cans that state "Gluten Free" on the label/artwork or printed on the base of the can with the date will be confirmed as GF stock.
ARE YOUR DRAFT BEERS GLUTEN FREE?
We have now transitioned the same products in keg to GF too. We have have put green stickers on the GF stock leaving the brewery to make the venue aware. Che Guava, El Perro Negro & Chillax have always been GF on draft however the following keg products are now also GF: Joker IPA, Caesar Augustus, Birds & Bees, Craft Lager, Fraoch - Heather Ale & Seven Giraffes. Please note cask beer (on handpull) is not GF confirmed as yet but will hopefully follow suit soon.
YOUR LABELS SAY GLUTEN FREE BUT INGREDIENTS LIST BARLEY, OATS, RYE ETC AS CONTAINING GLUTEN?
Our beer is still made from cereals containing gluten so we must still list these allergens on the label as sources of Gluten, this is as per legal labelling guidelines. However in our Gluten Free products the Gluten has been removed by enzymatic process & the level has been tested below the 20ppm threshold for Gluten Free classification prior to release. Unfortunately this is a bit confusing but rest assured If our label says Gluten Free it has been tested below the 20ppm threshold prior to release.
MY APP SAYS YOUR GF BEERS ARE STILL NOT SUITABLE?
There is a bit of an issue with how some of the apps works (we have confirmed & checked this with Coeliac UK). If someone has selected Barely, Wheat, Rye, Oats etc as an allergen in their preferences it will automatically flag anything made with these as unsuitable for them. It does not take into account that the gluten from these beers has been removed and the beer tested below the GF threshold prior to release. If we have stated Gluten Free, it will have been tested below the required legal level prior to release.
ARE THE CANS GLUTEN FREE TOO?
We currently have a lot of printed can stock for Joker, Caesar, Craft Lager & Birds & Bees to use up before we can update the artwork to include "Gluten Free". In the meantime we will print on the base of the cans "Gluten Free" with the date stamp on any GF tested batches. If it does not state Gluten Free please assume it is not.
IS YOUR ONLINE STOCK GLUTEN FREE?
We have listed on the shop pages under each product which has switched to GF stock. If it does not say “gluten free” in the full product description on the SHOP page where you add to cart it has not as yet switched. Again, these should all have made the switch by May. The new website will have a GF symbol once launched. We have put together a Gluten Free page which is probably the quickest/easiest way to find which product/SKU's are currently Gluten Free.